Mighty Thor by Matt Fraction Reading Guide

A few months ago, I gave you a Fear Itself/Journey Into Mystery reading guide, and now, after Thor’s appearance in What If? this week, it’s time to complete this series with Mighty Thor by Matt Fraction!


There is a small amount of pre-reading before jumping into this series, and that is the Siege event, as Matt Fraction’s run jumps off from that event.

The Main Event

The Mighty Thor: The Galactus Seed

It’s a shining, golden, new age for the Thunder God – and Matt Fraction and Olivier Coipel are back to lead the charge! Thor and Sif dive deep into the heart of the fractured World Tree to reclaim an artifact from beyond time and space, an artifact that attracts the attention of the Silver Surfer. And when a herald such as he arrives on Earth, the arrival of his master is certain to follow. Prepare for the return of the World Eater. Prepare for the return of Galactus!

The Mighty Tanarus

First: the critical Fear Itself prequel that couldn’t be told until now! Discover the true story behind the Serpent & Odin’s past! Then, in the wake of Fear Itself, Odin decides the final fate of Asgard, and the heroes of the Nine Worlds bid farewell to one of their own. Thor no more! But who is Tanarus, and why is he the new God of Thunder? Loki tries to expose the imposter god by enlisting the help of … Doctor Donald Blake! And as the new All-Mothers of Asgardia battle their first threat to the Nine Realms, Thor struggles to free himself before the Demogorge consumes him…

Obviously, this one you do have to read around the same time as Fear Itself, so have that one on hand!

The Neverending Nightmare

His father in exile! His mother on the throne! Thor’s world is upside down – and what the heck is Donald Blake doing here, too?! As Thor readjusts to life on Earth, all Broxton – and all Asgardia – begins having the same nightmare. What really happens in your room at night after you fall asleep? How can Thor fight a foe that’s not there? As the Enchantress completes her latest masterpiece of madness and mayhem, her Keep is unleashed on a slumbering Asgardia – and Blake is transformed into the revenge-crazed Deconsecrator! How far will he go to regain what he’s lost? And how can the Nine Realms escape a nightmare with no end?

Mighty Thor/Journey Into Mystery: Everything Burns

The first Aesir/Vanir war was the darkest time in Asgard’s past — so dark it was seared from their history books. But now, rebels strike against Asgard, and a second Aesir/Vanir war breaks out! As Surtur’s all-consuming fire rages across the nine worlds, Thor and Loki go on the run. Thor hatches an unconventional plan to stop everything burning, while a desperate Loki journeys into the heart of Surtur’s fiery kingdom to…parlay? What vile secret hides at the heart of this new war? Can the All-Mother of Asgardia save the nine realms? And when Thor finds himself trapped in the underworld, the truth about Loki is finally revealed! As Loki’s future and past collide, who will judge a god?

This one ties up the Thor run as well as Journey Into Mystery!

And that’s everything for Matt Fraction’s Thor run! If you have any questions, please do leave them down below, I’ll be more than happy to help!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s