A Guide To Derek Landy Marvel Comics

Derek Landy is probably best known for his middle grade book series, Skulduggery Pleasant, but he has also been known to do some comic work for Marvel comics!

Here’s a quick guide to what he’s written over the years:

One Shots:

Secret Empire: Uprising issue 1 by Derek Landy


Part of the Secret Empire storyline! This particular issue focuses on Black Widow getting the young heroes of the universe to help her with her plans. If you want to read this alongside the Secret Empire event, it goes between issues 3 and 4 of the main run.

Civil War II: Choosing Sides issue 3 by Derek Landy

The trial of the century! Even with the eyes of the Marvel Universe upon them, neither side is backing down…Featuring Nick Fury, The Punisher and Power Pack!

Derek specifically wrote a mini story in issue 3 of the Civil War II: Choosing Sides bind up, which, obviously, ties into Civil War II. His particular story focused on J Jonah Jameson.

Bind Ups:

Falcon And The Winter Soldier: Cut Off One Head by Derek Landy

A tale of two Caps! An office of dead government agents. A gifted new killer. Two ex-Captain Americas. When a dramatic attempt on the life of Bucky Barnes reunites him with Sam Wilson, the old friends are plunged headlong into a race to uncover the new leader of Hydra before a mass-casualty event announces the terror group’s resurgence to the world! The clock is ticking — but who is the Natural, and how did he beat Sam and Bucky so easily? It’s a bullet-riddled, window-smashing, table-breaking brawl for it all, and the Hydra Supreme is about to ascend!

This is set after both Bucky and Sam’s time as Captain America, and is essentially a one off story featuring the two characters teaming up against Hydra. Personally, I’d say you can read this without needing much prior knowledge, and it’s a really fun and exciting run! It’s filled with the banter you expect from Sam and Bucky (and Derek himself), and is generally a really good time!

Black Order: Warmasters Of Thanos by Derek Landy

They are the scourge of the Avengers, the Cull Obsidian — Thanos’ most feared warriors! Now the ruthless Black Order has been dispatched by the Grandmaster to destabilise a burgeoning empire — but as big and as bad as they are, there is always someone bigger and badder. Isn’t that always the way? You go to assassinate an emperor, he turns the tables, and suddenly a very simple mission gets a whole lot more complicated — and the man called Nova shows up to spoil all the fun! As the Black Order suffers a painful and unexpected defeat, their new teammate the Black Swan is presented with a simple choice: stay and risk an ungainly end — or leave and abandon the closest thing she has to a family. Empires, rebellions, spies and sabotage combine in an absolutely unhinged adventure!

If you’ve ever wanted to get to know Thanos’ Black Order a bit better, this is definitely one to read! I would say you should probably know a bit about Nova going into it, but other than that, it’s entirely self contained. Some people weren’t fond of this, but personally, I really enjoyed it, and if you’re a fan of Landy, you’ll definitely like it!

And that’s everything Derek Landy has written for Marvel so far! Who would you like to see him tackle in the future? For me, it has to be Loki and Doctor Strange!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s