War Of The Realms By Jason Aaron Reading Guide

A couple of weeks ago, I posted a guide to Jason Aaron’s Thor run, now it’s time to bring you part two – War Of The Realms and beyond – which is considerably shorter!

The main event

War Of The Realms Prelude and War Of The Realms

THE WAR OF THE REALMS is upon us! Malekith, king of the Dark Elves, has been conquering the Ten Realms and now has his sights set on the last one: Earth. And with armies of Frost Giants, Fire Goblins, trolls, angel warriors, Roxxon corporate soldiers, the Enchantress and the prince of lies himself, Loki, at his side, Malekith may just succeed. Asgardia is no more, Old Asgard is in ruins, and the majority of Asgardians are refugees on Earth. Now Thor and Earth’s heroes — including the Avengers, the Fantastic Four, and even such unlikely allies as Venom and Punisher — are all that stand in Malekith’s way!

The main War Of The Realms event is only two bind ups long:

War Of The Realms Prelude

War Of The Realms

This gives you the main event, so you won’t miss anything vitally important. But, if you want the full picture, with all the other character tie-ins, then I’d read:

War Of The Realms Omnibus

War Of The Realms Omnibus

It’s expensive, but it covers absolutely every aspect of the event, in the order it’s meant to be read. So, if you’re a completist, who wants everyone’s perspective, this is the way to go.

But, if you’re someone who just wants the main event, without all the tie-ins, then the prelude and the War Of The Realms bind up itself will be enough.

Beyond The War Of The Realms

Jane Foster Valkyrie volumes 1 and 2

Jane Foster is back! For years, you knew her as Dr. Jane Foster, one of Thor Odinson’s most steadfast companions. Then you knew her as Thor, Goddess of Thunder, who took up the mantle when no other hero was worthy. Now Jane takes on a new role as Valkyrie, guide and ferrywoman to the dead! But her days of battle are far from over – especially when the Marvel Universe’s deadliest shot gets his hands on the sword of a god! With the Asgardian weapon Dragonfang, Bullseye has the power to kill a deity in a single stroke – and he’s about to prove it. Jane must learn a hard lesson: Not every death can be prevented. But who’s next on Bullseye’s list – and what is the assassin really after?

Then, after the event, there’s the option of continuing on with Jane Foster’s storyline, here’s what’s been released so far:

The Sacred And The Profane

At The End Of All Things

This is an on-going series, written by Jason Aaron and Al Ewing, so there’s still more to come. I’ll keep you updated in my Wednesday new releases guides, so make sure to check in so you don’t miss anything!

And that’s the current War Of The Realms reading guide! I hope you found it useful, and if you have any questions, please feel free to leave them down below and I’ll do my best to help you out!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s